December 10, 2018, 02:38:00

Author Topic: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter  (Read 9008 times)

Offline Arparso

  • Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: 14
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #25 on: January 24, 2016, 15:35:33 »
Ah, nice to see the old converter working again :)

Yeah, I've started to develop a new and shiny converter, but I fear "Elite: Dangerous" and work has slowed me down the last few weeks. Good to know that the old converter is working again, so people don't have to wait for me to start modding.

While we're at it: any feature requests for the new custom converter? The current plan is to support everything the old one did, make the UI more intuitive and add a few new features:
(1) direct support for normal maps, not just bump maps
(2) support for 3d file formats other than just Lightwave, e.g. 3DS Max, Maya, Blender, etc.
(3) support for more texture file formats, including .bmp, .png or .jpg

For (2) I'll need some files to test the converter against. So if anyone is able to provide me with a fully rigged sample model in any common 3d format other than Lightwave, I'd greatly appreciate it. The hard thing will be to support all the game parameters attached to the model such as #blink#, #boosters#, #slot n#, etc. Not sure how easy it is to replicate these parameters in other modeling applications and how best to extract that info in the converter.

Offline The Old Dragon

  • Ensign
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2016, 16:18:11 »
Hi Arparso,

Sounds good, at this point, the only things that come to mind are for me are...

1) Removing the source and destination roots from the top half of the converter as (at least for me) these are covered by the Destination Directory and source file boxes.

2) Would it be possible to improve the 'Damage Overlay' effect? Maybe it's just my modelling, but I've noticed that the game appears to apply the effect with a single poly by poly approach , which tends to leave some very disjointed scorch marks :(

I can't help with models I'm afraid as I learned and stayed with lightwave, though I have asked an old friend to send some of his if he's willing.
Better to look the fool by asking, then prove them right with ignorance.

Offline GeoModder

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2016, 18:52:18 »
3) sounds marvelous. No need to save a texture in 3 different formats before I can convert it.

And a more intuitive way of where the converted files are dropped would be highest on my list, but that's more or less what Dragon already requested.

Offline Sargoth

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #28 on: January 24, 2016, 20:03:31 »
And a more intuitive way of where the converted files are dropped would be highest on my list, but that's more or less what Dragon already requested.

That's already in the converter  ;)

Offline The Old Dragon

  • Ensign
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2016, 21:30:15 »
Sincere apologies for going slightly off topic here...

But with regard to Arparso's MeshConv tool, exactly what is the .MTL file it creates for? If opened in notepad++ it gives what I believe is a list of textures used but I've no idea about the bit that appears to be coordinates?

Can anyone enlighten me?
Better to look the fool by asking, then prove them right with ignorance.

Offline GeoModder

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #30 on: January 24, 2016, 22:13:57 »
And a more intuitive way of where the converted files are dropped would be highest on my list, but that's more or less what Dragon already requested.

That's already in the converter  ;)


Yes, but it's not intuitive. I mean, I need to type the whole pathway there. We're in the choosing boxes era nowadays, Sargoth. ;)

Offline Sargoth

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #31 on: January 24, 2016, 22:16:59 »
HA! I found just copying and pasting the destination works wonders. Now if it would only save the destination location for the work file. Then we'd be golden ;)

Offline The Old Dragon

  • Ensign
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #32 on: January 24, 2016, 22:33:47 »
Create a project and it'll remember.  ;)
Better to look the fool by asking, then prove them right with ignorance.

Offline Sargoth

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Issue running Nexus' model / texture converter
« Reply #33 on: January 25, 2016, 02:22:06 »
Turns out I forgot to save the project file with that info ;D I could have saved so much time haha :-[