May 12, 2024, 18:46:31

Author Topic: PRT file editing  (Read 8315 times)

Offline jstubbles

• Petty Officer
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ivassago.com
PRT file editing
« on: February 07, 2010, 20:21:58 »
Hey guys, just wondering if anyone has information on editing the PRT files for particle creation. The documentation included with nexus mod tools is extremely vague, limited and doesn't even have examples. The PRT's themselves break down like heavy scripting, but as an artist it's hard to figure out. Custom PRT's allow for extremely complex particle effects and I'd certainly like to be able to do something with them.

Thanks!

Offline Arparso

• Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 18:26:36 »
I'm not an expert at Nexus' particle system, but I understand a fair bit about it. What part do you actually struggle with?

In order to create your particles you usually just create a set of nested blocks of the various types the modding manual mentions. Every particle starts with a PARTICLE-block:

Code: [Select]
PARTICLE "name"
[parameters]
[other-blocks]
END

Allowed parameters for PARTICLE are "duration" and "position", which define the particle's lifetime and actual position. Often you can leave out the position parameter, since that is being calculated by the game anyway.

[other-blocks] can be one (or more) of the following blocks: FLARE, SEQUENCE or EMITTER. FLARE is just one of several different flare effects, SEQUENCE can be an animated image sequence (like an explosion) or a still image and EMITTER makes the current Particle actually emit other particles.

FLARE and SEQUENCE are pretty self-explanatory looking at the modding manual... each takes some parameters like type, size, color, etc.
EMITTER is more complex:

EMITTER
[projection-parameter]
[frequency-parameter]
[velocity]

EMIT
[particle-description]
END
END