April 28, 2024, 01:25:23

Author Topic: GetDockPoint not working?  (Read 11901 times)

Offline Arparso

• Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
GetDockPoint not working?
« on: January 24, 2010, 16:50:53 »
Does this actually work for anyone? The syntax is supposedly:

Code: [Select]
GetDockPoint(ship, index, outer);
However, the game insists I'm givin an invalid dockpoint index, although I'm pretty sure it's the right one (since I receive that index from a docking boat with E.ship:dockpoint).

Any idea how to get the coordinates for a docking point then?

Offline Mularac

• Lieutenant
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 17:16:50 »
I must say that I've never used it before, what is it for?

FYI: Coordinates for docking points are included in the mesh, but I guess you already know that.

Offline Arparso

• Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2010, 17:26:50 »
The command should theoretically return the coordinates of a docking point, which I need to display a certain effect using PlayEfx... so I hooked up the Arriving event (which gets fired when boats start their docking approach) and tried something like that:

RULE event Arriving
:action
dock := GetDockPoint(E.ship:dockTarget, E.ship:dockPoint, 0);
PlayEfx(42, E.ship:radius, dock.x, dock.y, dock.z);
:end
END

But it fails at GetDockPoint every time telling me about an invalid dockpoint index. I also tried to supply the index manually, but it either gives me the same error when the value is less or equal than NumDockPoints(E.ship:dockTarget) or just 0, if it's greater than that.

Seems bugged to me :(

Offline Mularac

• Lieutenant
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2010, 17:36:08 »
what does it tell you if you debug those values? (e.ship:dockpoint, e.ship:docktarget)