February 19, 2020, 01:27:59

Author Topic: Vista and multiplayer  (Read 5981 times)

Offline Tazoupetonbus

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://
Vista and multiplayer
« on: March 26, 2009, 11:51:47 »
Hello all. Someone know how make Nexus work in multiplayer with VISTA ? Each time that I create a server I have got this error message : Nexus_DX9.exe.
I even try the No Cd Exe but it doesn't work. I tried compatibility with XP SP 2 and execute as admin but it doesn't work.

Offline Arparso

  • Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: 14
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2009, 22:26:24 »
Sorry, can't help you there. I'm running Vista, too, but I'm also unable to start a multiplayer game. If there is a way to run it, then I don't know it :(

Offline SoulAssassino

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 18:53:07 »
Well there is the convenient method:
Uninstall Vista, Install XP
There is the clever method:
Uninstall Vista, Install XP
And there is the method, that in long term will save your nerves from destruction:
Uninstall Vista, Install XP.

HDD Formatting. It save my life.

Okay, to cut the jokes, unfortunately it seems that many functions of Nexus or it's mods will not work under vista. Including (i think) the DaTool made by ElFarto, or something else in the course of installing the New Conflicts mod.

Offline Arparso

  • Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: 14
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 23:22:34 »
Vista is just fine. Nexus is simply an old game, that doesn't fully work with a new operating system. Since both developer and publisher don't exist anymore, it sadly will never receive any kind of patch to remedy the situation, but at least singleplayer is working great.

Quote
Okay, to cut the jokes, unfortunately it seems that many functions of Nexus or it's mods will not work under vista. Including (i think) the DaTool made by ElFarto, or something else in the course of installing the New Conflicts mod.
Well, DaTool works like a charm with my 64-bit copy of Vista and I havent had a problem with Nexus singleplayer or any of the mods l tried. Granted, I never tried the New Conflicts mod... what exactly is supposed to not work there?

Offline SoulAssassino

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2009, 00:20:01 »
Wellm then not DaTool, but Mularac had some problems along the course of installing New Conflicts, that's why he downgraded to Xp:) It's better to mod this whole thing in it's original 'habitat':)

Offline Arparso

  • Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: 14
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2009, 01:01:35 »
I think I know the issue at hand. The New Conflicts mod uses a batch script to rename the original universe-folder and replace it with the modded one. This is perfectly fine and works flawlessly both in XP and Vista... unless Nexus is installed in your "C:Program Files" folder (or whatever it's called in your localized version of Windows). Vista actually protects this folder from any changes to protect your applications from unwanted changes (mainly by malicious software). Even the user can't do anything worthwile there (like renaming folders) until being granted admin privileges. That's the reason the batch script of the New Conflicts mod fails, because it isn't allowed to rename the folders.

So it's generally a good idea to not install your games in this folder, although about every installer defaults to that location. However, it's not an issue, if your not going to modify your game in any way, shape or form.

Offline SoulAssassino

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2009, 09:39:51 »
Indeed, you are right:)

Altough, i never liked the idea that your own OS doesn't let you destroy your own computer:P

Offline Arparso

  • Administrator
  • Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: 14
  • I can see you...
    • View Profile
    • http://arparso.de/nexus
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2009, 13:02:41 »
Well, I guess you can deactivate this protection somewhere... ;)

Much more annoying is the fact, that the game isn't working in multiplayer, because Microsoft completely removed DirectPlay Voice from their DirectX package in Vista. It's especially sad, since Nexus even gives you the option to deactivate voice chat, while in reality it still uses it, regardless of your setting. Anyway, this could be easily fixed by the developers, if they were still around or if someone would have access to the source code, but that's not the case :(