September 16, 2019, 10:08:59

Author Topic: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima  (Read 3833 times)

Offline Horus

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« on: August 09, 2011, 07:27:55 »
Hi All,
I am new here.  I was wondering if there is a way to  disable the HUD or GUI for machinima purposes.
I read in the scripting forum that  it is possible to clear the HUD for 5 seconds using a key combo
of ctrl+7.  Can someone go into greater detail on how to do this.  Also was wondering what cinema mode
was and how to enable it.  Any help would be great.

Thanks, Horus

Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 13:19:37 »
Cinema mod is a feature of the skirmisher. You can select it in the Mission type menu in the top right corner of the Nexus Skirmisher. 

How to clear the gui: There is a simple command that can do that:
Guiselect(0);

to restore the gui to it's usual state:
Guiselect(3);

What do you want to do with the cinema mode anyway? Keep in mind that there's no manual camera control while on cinema mode, so the camera will have to be moved by mission commands. Take a look at some of my missions in the Stargate mod, some (if not all) have  a cinematic start.

Offline Horus

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 01:23:00 »
Thank you for responding so quickly.  Being that I am a beginner at this, how and where do you implement
the guiselect 0 command.  I think that would be good for my needs, because I want to be able to
have control over the camera.  Cinema mode is probably out of the question for my needs.  What I want to do is to capture cinematic space battles in nexus using fraps.  I have done the same in Star Trek Online and Star
trek Legacy The Ultimate Universe with good results.  I will checkout your opening cinematic to your mod. 

Horus

Offline Horus

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 01:27:07 »
Oh yes if you are curious of what I wish to accomplish please check out some of
my videos.

http://www.youtube.com/user/anubismachine?feature=mhee

Horus

Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2011, 01:55:21 »
If you are a begginer, I think that coding your own cinematic mission is out of the question.
There are two options for you, though:

Offline jstubbles

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ivassago.com
Re: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2011, 02:41:34 »
Yeah you can always run the res of the game higher than the video output. I run the game at like 1440x900 then the final video export from Adobe Premiere is 1280x720, so the UI on the sides of the screen are cut out by default. I wish we could hide the mouse cursor, but that's no big deal to me.

Offline Horus

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Disabling GUI or HUD for machinima
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2011, 01:12:58 »
Hey thanks all of you for your input.  This what I came up with as a quick video.
More to come.  Best viewed with red and cyan anaglyph 3d glasses.   Enjoy

Star Trek A Nexus Incident 3D