March 29, 2024, 15:14:56

Author Topic: adding sounds to missions  (Read 14308 times)

Offline Lord_Valarian

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
adding sounds to missions
« on: June 25, 2011, 02:57:01 »
I put my sounds in "weapons/pulsar.wav". Put the index into "mod_sounds" as:

Code: [Select]
//phaser mod by Lord Valarian
SOUNDS
200 3 - "weapons\phaser low-e 01.WAV"
201 4 - "weapons\photon torp 01.wav"
202 4 - "weapons\photon torp 02.wav"
203 4 - "weapons\pulsar.wav"

210 6 - "shields\shield_cloaking_on_01.wav"
211 6 - "shields\shield_cloaking_off_01.wav"
END
//end

It just drops to desktop. That usually means an error. I'm stuck. Any here help?


Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 03:23:15 »
What type of modification? Regular or campaign based?
If it's campaign based, you don't have to temper with the mod_sounds.ini at all, you only have to add them to the sounds.ini, and then use the numeric reference to call the sounds in an efx in the file efx.ini

Offline Lord_Valarian

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
adding sounds to missions
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 21:52:00 »
>What type of modification? Regular or campaign based?

campaign based(phaser mod).

I'v already done that. It worked. I added the new efx and replaced an existing sound slot. I can't add any new slots without nexus crashing.




Offline GeoModder

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 23:14:53 »
Yeah, today I discovered there's a hard limit on the amount of music songs you can put in the game: 49

Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2011, 00:22:34 »
Odd...
In my campaign based mod I have used a lot of sounds...
more than a dozen or 2 dozens.

Offline Lord_Valarian

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
adding sounds to missions
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2011, 01:11:10 »
I used a linux program called Audacity. I did the final edits and sounds good. It outputs in uncompressed wav format. Does it need to be compressed?   I tried replacing the sound phaser sound. Nexus crashed.


Also, has anyone though of hacking nexus to get these values higher.




Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2011, 04:46:13 »
No, it doesn't need to be compressed. It does, however, need to be in 16-bit, not 32.
Also, are you developing in Linux? If so, what distro are you using?

Offline GeoModder

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • http://
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2011, 06:17:29 »
Odd...
In my campaign based mod I have used a lot of sounds...
more than a dozen or 2 dozens.

That was only for the music files, not any other. Just to be clear.

Offline Lord_Valarian

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
adding sounds to missions
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2011, 08:45:35 »
I checked audacity.  I used export in "wav 16bit bit PCM" format. I'm trying the ogg format to see if it works.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2011, 08:48:02 by Lord_Valarian »

Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2011, 18:16:24 »
Music has to be in ogg, regular sound files have to be in wav.
And I'm terrible sorry, I got myself confused. It can be in 32 or 16 bit, the only restriction is that it has to be mono, not stereo.

Offline Lord_Valarian

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
adding sounds to missions
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2011, 21:42:28 »
>Music has to be in ogg, regular sound files have to be in wav. I'm terrible sorry, I got myself confused. It can be in 32 or 16 bit, the only restriction is that it has to be mono, not stereo.

Audacity loads the flv sound in stereo format(Left and right channel). Likely, it saves the wav in stereo format.  So, that's why nexus is crashing. I have to convert it to wav mono format. Do you know how in Audacity?


Offline Mularac

  • Lieutenant
  • ***
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: adding sounds to missions
« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2011, 22:09:03 »
Yep. I actually use audacity myself, too.
The first thing you have to do is split the stereo track.
Go to where the name is, and hit the main tab:



Then hit "split stereo track". This will create two different tracks, the left and right ones.

Finally, choose one of those, go to the same tab as before and hit on "mono".
And that's done. All you need to do is export that one.

Offline Lord_Valarian

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
adding sounds to missions
« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2011, 22:37:20 »
I found a simpler way. I just did:

track->stereo track to mono
Amplify->9db
Effect->fade out(end 0.1sec)
Export->WAV format->filename

In game, it sounds strange.  I'll try your method.